Tuesday, January 19, 2016

Temporary logo for Aquitaine-Limousin-Poitou-Charentes

France went through a major territorial reform at the beginning of the year that saw the number of government regions drop from 22 to 13. Most regions were affected and found themselves merged with one or more of their neighbours. The new regions have until the middle of the year to decide what they are going to call themselves. For some it is obvious, the recently merged Lower Normandy and Upper Normandy is now simply called Normandy. Others have more unwieldy names like Alsace-Champagne-Ardenne-Lorraine and Languedoc-Roussillon-Midi-Pyrénées.

Another such example is Aquitaine-Limousin-Poitou-Charentes, formed through the merger of Aquitaine, Limousin and Poitou-Charentes. ALPC has some 5.8 million inhabitants and includes of much of south-western France. The region will get a new name later this year, but still needed a visual identity, revealed shortly before Christmas.

The provisional nature of the logo didn't stop its creators from having a bit of fun by lining up the I's in the three names.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Région ALPC (archive)
France 3

No comments:

Post a Comment