Tuesday, August 30, 2011

eu2012.dk - Danish EU presidency logo

At the moment, Poland holds the rotating presidency of the European Union. Next in line is Denmark, who are taking over on January 1. While Poland unveiled their presidency logo in May, Denmark announced their logo over a year before taking the presidency. The Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Danish Design Centre (DDC) arranged a contest to select the presidency logo, and the winner was presented on October 11, 2010.

The contest attracted 71 submissions from designers and graphic artists, and the winner was selected from seven finalists. The winning submission was created by Peter Jacob Møgelvang from Kunde&Co. A jury statement described it as "an aesthetic and creative typographic solution, which in its simplicity is a clear expression of Danish design tradition". The "half-digits" represent the Danish half year at the presidency, and rotating digit represents the rotating nature of the presidency.

Denmark last held the EU presidency in 2002, using the logo seen below:

The winner got 100.000 DKK (about €13.000 or $19.000). Two runner-ups where also presented:

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

The second prize went to Robert Daniel Nagy (MDD). Using intertwined letters in "Danish red" and "European blue", its expresses dialogue between different points of view.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

The third prize went to Peter Stephensen (Make). This submission features four speech bubbles that make up a Danish flag, once again an expression of dialogue from different perspectives.

DDC press release (archive)
DDC press release pdf (archive)
Ministry of Foreign Affairs (archive)
DDC - 1. Præmie
DDC - 2. Præmie
DDC - 3. Præmie

No comments:

Post a Comment