Thursday, July 5, 2012

New logo: Erste Liga (Switzerland)

Erste Liga ("First League") is the somewhat confusing name for what is actually the third and fourth tier in Swiss football, although it is the highest amateur league. It used to be called 1. Liga and consisted of 48 teams in three regional groups. For the 2012/13 season, the Swiss Football Association has introduced a national tier called Erste Liga Promotion above the old one, which has been renamed Erste Liga Classic.

Late last week, the new logos for Erste Liga and its "Promotion" and "classic" divisions where unveiled.

The old 1. Liga logo.

Swiss Football Association (archive)

1 comment:

  1. Horrible choice of typeface. Something very bad is happening to Swiss design recently.